Wakeful Stakes

Date: Saturday 31st October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo Fillies – Set Weights + Penalty
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2014 Winner: Thunder Lady

The Wakeful Stakes is a breathtaking Group 2 race that is exclusive to three year old fillies only. The event is run during the Melbourne Spring carnival at the Flemington Racecourse in November or late October each year. The Wakeful Stakes is a 3000M race making it the longest Group 2 race of the Carnival. The event is today worth up to $300,000 in prize money and over the last few decades, the quality of talent and racing that has been on show in the Wakeful Stakes has been nothing short of spectacular.

The event features on the same day along a number of exciting Group 1 races including the AAMI Victoria Derby, The Myer Classic, the Coolmore Stud Stakes and The McKinnon Stakes. Kirramosa was the gracious winner of the 2013 edition of the Wakeful Stakes after doing well to beat a strong challenge from May’s Dream who crossed the finish line in second. The outstanding Solicit had to settle for third despite a remarkable performance.
A lot of horse trainers consider this event as the major long distance race for three year old fillies and as such the race often attracts above average and more than handy runners every year. The race is seen as the best build up to the Group 1 Crown Oaks and the 2013 champion of the Wakeful Stakes Kirramosa was on hand to claim the Crown Oaks in what was a great double triumph for the talented horse. The Group 2 Edward Manifold Stakes and the Group 1 Thousand Guineas are also good events for horses that perform well in the Wakeful Stakes.

The race has never been short of exiting and talented superstars. In 2011 for example, Atlantic Jewel was on hand to win the Wakeful Stakes and the Caulfield Guineas double. Brazilian Pulse in 2010 also did well to claim the Wakeful Stakes and the Edward Manifold Stakes double. Other notable horses to win this race include Zarita back in 2011, Tuesday Joy in 2006 and Rocha back in 2008.

Wakeful Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Thunder Lady Abduction Fenway 2:03.3
2013 Kirramosa May’s Dream Solicit 2:05.1
2012 Zydeco Maraatib Transonic 2:02.8
2011 Atlantic Jewel Rahveel Dowager Queen 2:04.9
2010 Brazilian Pulse Placement Heartsareforlove 2:04.2
2009 Faint Perfume Silent Surround Melito 2:03.2
2008 Rocha Miss Scarlatti Estee 2:05.5
2007 Zarita Riva San Katherine Gold 2:05.8
2006 Tuesday Joy J’adane Anamato 2:02.7
2005 Serenade Rose Astronomia Zenarta 2:02.5
2004 Hollow Bullet Storm Alert Mango Daiquiri 2:02.1
2003 Timbourina Special Harmony Dane Beltar 2:05.5
2002 Hierogram Its Who Deanie Lashed 2:02.9
2001 Quays Gold Lottery Li Lo Lill 2:01.2
2000 Lolita Star Lang Kwai Fong Tanith 2:04.7
1999 My Sienna Forest Express Danglissa 2:01.3
1998 Grand Archway Rose O War Confer 2:02.2
1997 Kensington Palace Marine Spirit Kilmore Quay 2:04.3
1996 Danendri Superb Lady Calm Abiding 2:01.9
1995 Saleous Not On Friday Pontal Lass 2:01.5
1994 Dream Of The Dance Captiva Euphoria 2:05.1
1993 Arborea Alcove Fine Recipe 2:02.0
1992 Love Comes To Town Tempest Command Azzurro 2:03.9
1991 Richfield Lady Yodells Dancefloor Doll 2:02.6
1990 Beachside All Mine Triscay 2:03.6
1989 Tristanagh A Little Kiss La Tristia 2:02.5
1988 Research Salisopra Memphis Blues 2:02.5