Spring Champion Stakes

Date: Saturday 10th October 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: 3yo – Set Weights
Status: Group 1
Prizemoney: $400,000
2014 Winner: Hampton Court

The Spring Champion Stakes is a Group 1 race that takes place in October at the Randwick Racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The event is the premier Group 1 race for three year old horses in the Sydney Spring Racing Carnival and is raced over a distance of 2000M. The race is run under set weights and is valued at $400,000 in prize money. The 2013 edition of the Spring Champion Stakes has full of thrill and excitement and went down as one of the most breathtaking Group races of the Spring Carnival.
In the end though, outstanding three year old Complacent produced a strong show to win the race ahead of Criterion and Savvy Nature who both came in second and third respectively. The race features on the last day of the Spring Carnival a week after the $500,000 Epsom Stakes. The Spring Champion Stakes is regarded as the best and most competitive race for three year olds over middle distance. The event has over the years attracted and showcased some of Australia’s super star racers.
The Group 2 Gloaming Stakes that comes a few weeks earlier in the spring carnival is a good lead up race for the Spring Champion Stakes. The Dulcify Quality, a listed event that takes place at the Randwick Racecourse is also an ideal lead up event for 3yos looking to compete and do well in the Spring Champion Stakes. A number of quality horses have managed to win the Spring Champion Stakes and the Gloaming Stakes double in recent years.
Complacent back in 2013 completed a great Spring Carnival performance with the double victory while It’s a Dundeel also replicated the same success a year earlier. In its rich history, the Spring Champion Stakes has also produced a number of quality horses. Some notable 3yos to feature in this race include Nothin’ Leica Dane back in 1995, Dignity Dancer in 1998, Universal Prince in 2000 and the gifted Tie The Knot in 1997.

Spring Champion Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Hampton Court First Seal Sweynesse 2:00.1
2013 Complacent Criterion Savvy Nature 2:03.3
2012 It’s a Dundeel Proisir Honorius 2:02.6
2011 Doctor Doom Darci Be Good Sangster 2:05.8
2010 Erewhon Retrieve Praecido/Shootoff 2:02.9
2009 Monaco Consul Gathering Viking Legend 2:09.9
2008 Sousa Predatory Pricer Excelltastic 2:06.2
2007 Race not run
2006 Teranaba All Black Gold He’s No Pie Eater 2:04.5
2005 Hotel Grand Pendragon Duelled 2:04.8
2004 Savabeel Outback Prince Cedar Manor 2:07.2
2003 Niello November Dreaming Tsuimai 2:03.4
2002 Platinum Scissors Soprana Maskerado 2:04.3
2001 Viking Ruler Evander Silver Baron 1:49.5
2000 Universal Prince Falls The Shadow Go Bint 2:05.1
1999 Fairway Shogun Lodge Liberty Hall 2:02.3
1998 Dignity Dancer Lawyer Arena 2:00.4
1997 Tie The Knot Brave Prince El Mirada 2:05.4
1996 Magic Of Sydney Ebony Grosve Dual Dilemma 2:04.0
1995 Nothin’ Leica Dane Super Slew Catalan Opening 2:03.2
1994 Danewin Brave Warrior Stay Tuned 2:04.3
1993 Fraternity Zaremba Constant Flight 2:05.1
1992 Coronation Day Muirfield Village Palate 2:02.5
1991 Kinjite Zinders Beowulf 2:02.5
1990 St. Jude Fire Oak What A Hit 2:04.7
1989 Stylish Century Stargazer Procol Harum 2:02.4
1988 Sakana Run Straight Run Shipwreck 2:03.9
1987 Beau Zam Nickson Hit Again Benny 2:02.4
1986 Imprimatur Drought Tristram 2:05.6
1985 Easter Indian Raj Handy Proverb 2:05.5
1984 Luck’s A Lottery Black Ivory Clovelly Bay 2:05.4
1983 Sir Dapper Been There Tri-Flow 2:13.1
1982 Veloso Grosvenor Cossack Prince 2:04.0
1981 Best Western Brewery Boy Rare Form 2:02.8
1980 Prince Majestic Cosmic Planet Palaban 2:03.7