Southern Cross Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th February 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $150,000
2014 Winner: Terravista

Originally known as the Frederick Clissold Stakes, this Group 3 event is today the Southern Cross Stakes. It is a 1200M horse racing showpiece that is held every year in February on Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse. The quality handicap race is open to 3 year old horses and more often than not, The Southern Cross Stakes has a tendency to attract more of the sprinting types as opposed to topliners. A number of top class horses have won this event in recent years. The 2014 edition was won by Terravista with Albrecht and My Destiny coming in at second and third place respectively.

The Southern Cross Stakes currently (2014) offers $150,000 in prize money which is a huge amount compared to the $150 offered when the event first took place in 1940. In the last ten years, the best time recorded was 1:08:5 run by outstanding horse Sister Madly in 2011. Sprinters from this race usually progress to the Liverpool City Cup which is run under fairly similar conditions though the cup event has an additional 100m on its track. An example of a horse that made successful progression is the runner up of the 2010 edition in the Southern Cross Stakes – Dreamscape. This particular horse progressed to win the Liverpool City Cup in the same year.

Despite having endured several name changes over the years, the Southern Cross Stakes race remains one of the most competitive events in the Australian horse racing calendar. There hasn’t been any single horse that has defended the Southern Cross Stakes since 1940. Every year the event has recorded a new winner. Ab Initio is the only double winner having taken the crown in 1999 and again in 2001. In more recent times, Utzon delivered an impressive performance by coming in second in the 2005 and 2006 editions.

Southern Cross Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Terravista Albrecht My Destiny 1:08.6
2013 Skytrain Streama Onthelookout 1:13.5
2012 No Evidence Needed Neeson Secret Admirer 1:10.0
2011 Sister Madly Pinwheel Cardinal Virtue 1:08.5
2010 Kenny’s World Dreamscape Geared Up 1:11.0
2009 Marchinski Kenny’s World Raise 1:10.1
2008 Hoystar Hoystar Danleigh 1.10:0
2007 The Free Stater The Jackal Century Serb 1.08:7
2006 Collate Utzon Damigos 1.09.5
2005 Cool Front Utzon Patezza 1:10.2
2004 Britt’s Best Fiery Venture Shags 1:10.0
2003 Gordo Presently Salgado 1:10.2
2002 Lord Essex Crawl Dottoressa 1:10.3
2001 Ab Initio Strabane Pittance 1:09.0
2000 Pimpala Prince Spying Iglesia 1:09.8
1999 Ab Initio Landsighting Little Lucifer 1:09.8
1998 Confiscate Batwing Iron Horse 1:09.0
1997 Secret Savings Magic Road Shame 1:08.5
1996 Danewin Sprint By Light Up The World 1:09.2
1995 Alert Me All Our Mob Legal Agent 1:09.6
1994 Deposition The Perfume Garden Silver Flyer 1:11.4
1993 Big Dreams Spearman Deposition 1:09.4
1992 Friend’s Venture Phantom’s Hero Generous Prince 1:10.0
1991 Joanne Spot The Rock Century Reign 1:09.5
1990 Comrade Prince Trialia Regiment 1:11.1
1989 Diamond Benny Wong Flotilla 1:09.5
1988 Wong Full Page Francette 1:15.0