Reisling Slipper Trial

Date: Saturday 7th March 2014
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo Fillies – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2014 Winner: Earthquake

The Reisling Slipper Trail is an exciting Group 2 race worth $300, 000 in prize money. The event is run under set weight conditions for two-year-old fillies. The Reisling Slipper Trail is held at The Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales every year in March and it covers a 1200 metre distance. The 2014 race was proudly taken by Overeach with Villa Verde and Spurrendous coming closely in second and third respectively.

Winning the Reisling Slipper Trail comes with some added benefits especially an exemption from ballot for the big money group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes. The race is viewed by many horse trainers and jockeys as the perfect lead up race for the premier 2yo event in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival – The Golden Slipper Stakes. The event is also held on the same day as the Group 1 Coolmore Stud Classic and The Ranvet Stakes.
In recent years, the Reisling Slipper Trail has been known to attract fillies looking to test their ability to run and compete in the Golden Slipper Stakes. The last filly to win the two races was Overeach in 2013. In its proud history, this event has produced not only one of the most thrilling racing in the Sydney Autumn but also a number of outstanding fillies have made their name using this event as a springboard.

The best lead up event for the Reisling Slipper Trail is the Sweet Embrace Stakes which comes sometime earlier in the carnival. Fillies that do well in the Reisling Slipper Trail can also consider taking part in the upcoming Gr2 Magic Night Stakes and thereafter they can try the Golden Slipper. The 2013 able winner of the Reisling slipper, Overeach proudly took the Gr3 Widden Stakes over 1100m at Rosehill before making the easiest of wins in this event. Some other Reisling Slipper Trial winners include Samaready back in 2012 and Elite Falls a year later.

Reisling Slipper Trial recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Earthquake Mossfun Alpha Fun 1.10.7
2013 Overeach Villa Verde Spurrendous 1:10.7
2012 Samaready Hussousa Meidung 1:12.0
2011 Elite Falls Satin Shoes Fast And Sexy 1:12.3
2010 Military Rose Obsequious Solar Charged 1:11.7
2009 More Joyous Whobegotyou So Anyway 1:11.4
2008 Hips Don’t Lie Anatomica Love And Kisses 1:10.2
2007 Press The Button Hurried Choice Sleek Chasis 1:10.5
2006 Pure Energy Boom Time Savings Gold Edition 1:11.6
2005 Fashions Afield Mnemosyne Poetic Genius 1:11.8
2004 Alinghi Crimson Reign Ballybleue 1:09.7
2003 Polar Success Hasna Dorky 1:10.3
2002 Fatoon Kidman Brief Embrace 1:11.2
2001 Regal Kiss Faiza True Jewels 1:09.9
2000 Belle Du Jour Fetes Galantes Mielleuse 1:10.6
1999 Let’s Rock Again Smarts Hut 1:11.1
1998 Manana Danelagh Glammis 1:09.9
1997 Rose Of Danehill All The Rave Nimble Feet 1:09.8
1996 Merlene Lodore Magic Dashing Eagle 1:10.9
1995 Ginzano Pontal Lass Isolda 1:10.6
1994 Moment’s Pleasure Warning Siren Discreet Lady 1:12.6
1993 Star Of Nouvelle Lady Jakeo Rosa’s Image 1:10.1
1992 Burst Klokka Chingquillo 1:10.9
1991 Bold Promise Marskin Vionnet 1:10.4
1990 Triscay Roadsong Mahaasin 1:11.4
1989 Sunshine Sally Fickle Hostess Tristanagh 1:12.9
1988 Startling Lass Paris Weekend Angel On High 1:11.4