Pago Pago Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo C&G – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Time For War

The Pago Pago Stakes is a Group 2 Sydney Autumn race worth $175, 000 in prize money. The race is run under set weights over a sprint distance of 1200M. The Pago Pago Stakes is designed for two-year-old colts and geldings. The race takes center stage in late March at The Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. The event features on the same day as the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes and the winner is exempted for ballot in the premier 2yo race in the Sydney Autumn – The Golden Slipper Stakes. Sidestep is the current Pago Pago Stakes champion after beating Dothraki and Fuerza to second and third respectively.

The race is run seven days before the Group 1 Golden Slippers and is seen as the ideal lead up race for two-year-old colts and geldings looking to compete and make a case for the slipper championship. The Group3 Skyline Stakes is seen as a gear-up event for the Pago Pago Stakes and the last filly to take home the Pago Pago Stakes and The Skyline Stakes Double is The Shogun Lodge back in 1999. Other notable performers include Stratum back in 2005, the last 2yo filly to claim the spoils in both the Pago Pago Stakes as well as the Golden Slipper Stakes. .

The Group 2 Magic Night Stakes for fillies takes center stage the same day as the Pago Pago Stakes and horse racing enthusiast can enjoy the thrill and excitement that comes with these events in the 2014 Sydney Autumn Carnival. Interestingly, before taking home the Pago Pago Stakes, Outstanding 2yo filly Sidestep (2013) had lost his rider in the Group 2 Todman Stakes. Other notable winners in the event are All Too Hard in 2012 and Salade back in 2011.

Pago Pago Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Time For War Kumaon Klammer 1:12.7
2013 Sidestep Dothraki Fuerza 1:10.4
2012 All Too Hard Narcissus Limes 1:11.2
2011 Salade Boys On Tour Exceed And Exalt 1:11.5
2010 Brightexpectations Blackball Hinchinbrook 1:10.8
2009 Tickets New Day Rising Stryker 1:11.2
2008 Sidereus Over The Wicket Dubai To Sydney 1:11.9
2007 Deferential Cecconi Acey Ducey 1:10.5
2006 Tarleton Empires Choice Rubric 1:10.6
2005 Stratum Power Of Destiny Seidnazar 1:09.2
2004 Genius And Evil Fastnet Rock High Priority 1:10.1
2003 Danbird Hipwell Winestock 1:10.2
2002 Planchet Choisir Strictly Smart 1:09.9
2001 Red Hannigan Dash For Cash Shags 1:09.9
2000 De France Ombra Della Sera Veteran 1:11.5
1999 Shogun Lodge High Rolling Cullen 1:10.3
1998 Paris Dream Brilliance Arena 1:10.2
1997 Encounter Dance Beat Irish Air 1:09.8
1996 Babu’s Boy Magic Of Sydney Intergaze 1:09.5
1995 Strategic Zedrich Daney Boy 1:09.7
1994 Lord Jim Code Call Me Pal 1:11.3
1993 Jetball Sports Works Allez Glen 1:10.0
1992 Yachtie King Marauding Moville Dancer 1:11.5
1991 Big Dreams Umatilla Delphinus 1:09.9
1990 Pagan Jest Our Horizon Thegra 1:15.0
1989 Straussbrook Snowplough So Fast 1:12.7
1988 Zeditave Star Watch Astrologist 1:11.8