Magic Night Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1200 metres
Race Type: 2yo Fillies – Set Weights
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Bring Me The Maid

The Magic Night Stakes is an annual event held in late March at The Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales. It is a Group 2 race for two-year-old fillies and is run under set weight condition. The race is a 1200 meters showpiece and there is up to $175, 000 in prize money to be won. Champions in the Magic Night Stakes are exempted from ballot for the Group 1 Golden Slipper Stakes. The event is held on the same day as the Group 1 George Ryder Stakes which should complete a fine lineup of great racing. The Magic Night Stakes in 2013 was won by Scandiva with Shahad and Major Conquest settling for second and third respectively.

The race takes place one week prior to the Gr1 Golden Slipper Stakes and it’s an opportunity for two-year-old fillies to test their abilities to compete and try to win the Group 1 big money race. In addition to this, a good lead up race for the Magic Night Stakes is The Sweet Embrace Stakes that comes at Randwick a fortnight earlier. Victoria Vein (2002) is the last filly to claim the Magic Night Stakes and the Sweet Embrace Stakes Double.

However, no horse in recent years has managed to win the Magic Night Stakes and the Golden Slipper Stakes double.
Some of the two-year-old fillies to come just close include The Indian Ocean in 2009 who came from a good performance in the Magic Night Stakes to finishing 13th in the Slipper. On the other hand Marquardt 2nd in the Magic Night Stakes finished 6th in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival’s premier 2yo event. Some notable mares to have featured in the Magic Night Stakes include, Portillo in 2008 and Media in 2005 who also finished third in the Golden Slipper. Other previous winners are Ichihara (2012) and Alta (2005).

Magic Night Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Bring Me The Maid Peggy Jean Sultry Feeling 1:12.7
2013 Scandiva Shahad Major Conquest 1:11.1
2012 Ichihara Cavalry Rose Flying Snitzel 1:10.7
2011 Altar Pane In The Glass Aerobatics 1:11.8
2010 Willow Creek More Strawberries Celts 1:11.1
2009 Indian Ocean Marquardt Shawnee Girl 1:10.7
2008 Portillo Sugar Babe Delta Girl 1:11.9
2007 Downhill Racer Camarilla Gamble Me 1:10.7
2006 Gold Edition Nediym’s Glow Catechuchu 1:11.6
2005 Media Carry On Cutie Blizzardly 1:09.4
2004 Alizes Tahni Girl Monsoon Wedding 1:09.5
2003 Shamekha Bella Corona Soak Up The Sun 1:10.6
2002 Victory Vein Calaway Gal Stratica 1:10.0
2001 Hosannah Hanky Panky Breezer 1:10.3
2000 Preserve Blab Ateates 1:11.4
1999 Countess Christie Forest Express Danglissa 1:10.5
1998 Mardi’s Magic Confer Statement 1:11.3
1997 Regal Chamber Empower Keeping Up 1:10.0
1996 Precious Glitter Dashing Eagle La Snippette 1:10.1
1995 Pontal Lass Millrich Show Of Force 1:10.4
1994 Romantica Rosa’s Path Alouette 1:11.4
1993 Bint Marscay Tristalove Miss Prospect 1:09.7
1992 Klokka Discriminate Misty Power 1:10.9
1991 Pipiwar Electrique Tyrannic 1:09.9
1990 Draw Card Lusso Wrap Around 1:14.2
1989 Fickle Hostess Perfect Evening Dazzling Flyer 1:13.3
1988 Comely Girl Research Silver Stardom 1:12.2