Date: Friday 25th September 2015
Track: Moonee Valley racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2040 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $200,000
2014 Winner: The Cleaner

The JRA Cup is a quality open handicap race run over 2040M at the Moonee Valley Racecourse in Victoria. The event is a Group 3 race worth up to $200,000 making it one of the best paying Group 3 races in the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The race in recent years has attracted a number of high profile horses and in 2013 Murinho was the proud winner of the event after outclassing a strong field of able competitors. Gris Caro had to settle for second with The Great Snowman doing well to finish in third.
The cup was elevated from a listed race to a Group 3 event back in 2010 and in this year’s Melbourne Spring, the JRA Cup will feature on the same day as the Group 1 AJ Moir Stakes. The JRA Cup is a great test for horses looking to take on long distance races later in the carnival. The event attracts high profile middle and long distance runners and in fact, the JRA Cup has done well to produce remarkable champions some of who have taken the Melbourne Cup and the WS Cox Plate – the two biggest long distance races in the Spring Carnival.
In 2009, the Outstanding Shocking was on hand to take home the Melbourne Cup after finishing third in this race. After winning the JRA Cup in 2007, Maldivian retuned in 2008 to score a remarkable victory in the WS Cox Plate while Master O’Reily also won the Caulfield Cup just weeks after winning the 2007 edition of the JRA Cup. It is very clear that based on these stats the JRA Cup is a great breeding ground for emerging superstars especially over long distances.
Horses that perform well in this race can consider taking part in the Group 3 Queen Elizabeth Stakes which comes on the last day of the Melbourne Spring. In 2011, Ironstein came close to a double victory in both these two races after running 3rd in the JRA Cup on course towards a respectable second place finish in the Queen Elizabeth Stakes. Other notable winners in this race include Alcopop back in 2009 and Dream Peddler in 2011.

JRA Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 The Cleaner Sangster Mourinho 2:05.9
2013 Mourinho Gris Caro The Great Snowman 2:06.1
2012 Bianmick Dance With Her Ironstein 2:06.6
2011 Dream Pedlar Carnero Domesky 2:08.7
2010 Precedence Rainbow Styling Linton 2:05.3
2009 Alcopop Field Hunter Shocking 2:08.4
2008 Cefalu Majestical Devil Moon 2:05.9
2007 Maldivian Pacino Master O’Reilly 2:05.8
2006 Pavlova Spinney Delvecchio 2:07.0