David Jones Cup

Date: Saturday 17th October 2015
Track: Caulfield racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 2000 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Contributer

The David Jones Cup is a popular middle distance Group 3 race run during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival over 2000M at the iconic Caulfield Racecourse. The event is held annually in October under handicap condition and is today worth up to $125,000 in prize money. The 2013 edition of the David Jones Cup was a tale of passion and thrilling racing and in the end Spurtonic did well to cross the finish line first ahead of Bass Strait and Garud who both had to settle for second and third respectively. For the better part of the last five years, the David Jones Cup has largely assembled above average horses from the local area. The race all the same will feature on the same day as the popular Group 1 Caulfield Cup.

In recent years, the race was run as the Coongy Handicap and has also been a great build up for horses keen on contesting the Caulfield Cup. While the David Jones Cup is not considered the biggest horse races in Australia, the race has in its own right produced quality champions most of who have made it big in other races across the country. Ginga Dude for example won the 2010 edition of the David Jones Cup and later finished a respectable third in the Group 1 McKinnon Stakes.

In 2009, Shocking was on hand to take home the David Jones Cup title but would later record impressive victories in the Melbourne Cup and the Group 2 Lexus Stakes. The David Jones Cup is ideally a great race for horse racing enthusiasts who are keen on upcoming superstars. The talent on show here is just amazing and even in 2014, the event is shaping up to be a great field day for quality and enthralling horse racing.

David Jones Cup recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Contributer Noble Protector Signoff 2:05.2
2013 Spurtonic Bass Strait Garud 2:03.1
2012 Lightinthenite Bagman Extra Zero 2:04.2
2011 Foreteller Extra Zero Midnight Martini 2:03.1
2010 Ginga Dude Purple Zoomin 2:06.6
2009 Baughurst Shocking Pacino 2:03.6
2008 Baughurst Pacino Annenkov 2:02.0
2007 Fire In The Night Molotov Pachino 2:02.4
2006 Maybe Better King Of Ashford Temple Hills 2:01.2
2005 Activation Studebaker Uprize 2:00.6
2004 Reclaim Pretorius Star Of Grechen 2:05.7
2003 Frightening Crawl Adolescence 2:03.5
2002 Mr Lofty Little Miss Quick Society Beau 2:02.
2001 Citras Prince Indian Ridge Tempest Morn 2:04.1
2000 Typhoon Avilde Slavonic 2:00.9
1999 Oliver Twist Make A Scene Nahayan 2:03.5
1998 Its All In Fun Kalastaire Madonna 2:16.3
1997 Our Sumo Sunny Lane Toil 2:15.8
1996 Circles Of Gold Filante Beau Heed 2:03.0
1995 Macdrury Waikikamukau Makarpura Star 2:03.6
1994 Excited Angel Ball Park Over The Top 2:02.8
1993 Silk Ali Maraakiz Notwithstanding 2:01.6
1992 Fraar Brave Expectations Mountain Rule 2:02.5
1991 Mantlepiece Majestic Boy Centro 2:01.1
1990 Kessem Kingston Rule Goliath 2:00.6
1989 Eye Of The Sky Perfect Answer Chigarow 2:01.6
1988 Ideal Centreman Be Reasonable Exocet 2:00.1