Chatham Stakes

Date: Saturday 31st October 2015
Track: Flemington racecourse, Melbourne
Distance: 1400 metres
Race Type: Open Handicap
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $250,000
2014 Winner: Huckleback

The Chatham Stakes is a quality and thrilling Group 3 race run over a sprint distance of 1400M during the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival. The race is held annually in October or early November at the Flemington Racecourse in Victoria’s biggest city Melbourne. The Chatham Stakes is today worth up to $250,000 in prize money and over the last few years, the event has endured a number of name changes. The race has been run as the Ellerston Capital Stakes, The Great Western, The Yullambee Stud Stakes but today, it is known as the Chatham Stakes.

In the 2014 edition of the Melbourne Spring Racing Carnival, the race will feature on derby day along with some of the biggest races in the Carnival. Some notable events to keep an eye on the same day include the AAMI Victoria Derby, The Myer Classic, The Coolmore Stud Stakes and The McKinnon Stakes. Smokin Joey was the proud winner if the 2013 edition of the Chatham Stakes with Galah coming through to take second place in a close contest between the two horses.
Strike The Stars was also on hand to take home the third place to complete the three podium places. The race is actually named after the outstanding Australian race horse Chatham who won the WS Cox Plate twice. The event is often associated with above average sprinters and is in most cases it is highly competitive. Horses that perform well in this race can move on to contest the Group 3 Sundown Stakes or the Group 1 Emirates Stakes.

All Silent was the last horse to win the Chatham Stakes and the Emirates Stakes double back in 2008. The Outstanding Scenic Peak also took home the Chatham Stakes in 2001 and 2003 and did well to also bag the 2002 Emirates Stakes title. The talent that is on show at the Chatham Stakes every year is just exceptional. The event will for sure be a major highlight this year especially for horse racing enthusiasts keen on the pulsating short races.

Chatham Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Huckleback Alma’s Fury Generalife 1:23.2
2013 Smokin’ Joey Galah Strike The Stars 1:23.4
2012 Fawkner Free Wheeling Wall Street 1:20.9
2011 Woorim Thankgodyou’rehere Toorak Toff 1:23.5
2010 Poor Judge Demerit Centennial Park 1:25.7
2009 Centennial Park McClintock Royal Ida/Snipers Bu 1:22.2
2008 All Silent Sniper’s Bullet Stickpin 1:22.4
2007 Count To Zero Spielmeister Royal Ida 1:23.7
2006 Malcolm Mr Ubiquitous Live In Vain 1:22.9
2005 Rockford Bay Zankel Valedictum 1:22.2
2004 Great Is Great Amtrak Regent Street 1:22.7
2003 Scenic Park Lord Volksraad Shogun Lodge 1:24.0
2002 To Be Fair Palladium Star Tarcoola Midnight 1:22.3
2001 Scenic Park Desert Eagle Super Impressive 1:21.3
2000 Matter Of Honour Typhoon Barney Aka Bilk 1:23.8
1999 Black Bean Bonotto Northern Song 1:22.5
1998 Bezeal Bay Pleasure Giver Rancho Spark 1:20.8
1997 Confiscate Crows Before Dawn Jugulator 1:24.7
1996 Headstrong Monopolize Hero Wind 1:21.6
1995 Final Temp Regal Half Sir Boom 1:26.4
1994 New Smyrna Money Spider Natural Elegance 1:24.0
1993 Cocky Beau My Wanderin’ Star Ghost Story 1:24.5
1992 Let’s Hurry Prince Of Praise Sir Bituate 1:24.6
1991 Blue Boss Overpitch Pontormo 1:22.0
1990 Power Of Destiny Procol Harum Looks Great 1:23.0
1989 Swiftsynd Royal Creation Prince Anton 1:21.4
1988 Bowie Jet Fighter Prismatic Star 1:21.9