Chairman’s Handicap

Date: Saturday 4th April 2015
Track: Randwick racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 2600 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $300,000
2014 Winner: The Offer

The Chairman’s Handicap is a popular and breathtaking Group 2 open handicap race that takes place on the first day of The Championship races in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. The event enjoys the privilege of sharing the stage with the big money Doncaster Handicap which is the feature event of the opening day. The current prize money for the race is $300,000 and this has done a lot to attract quality mares to this 2600M Showpiece. The winner in the Chairman’s Handicap gets an exemption from ballot and penalty in the Sydney Cup. The Chairman’s Handicap is held every year in April on Sydney’s Randwick Racecourse, New South Wales.

In the 2013 edition, Tremec was crowned the winner after outclassing strong and equally gifted mares that included runner up Blood Brotha and third placed Aliyana Tilde. Though slightly slower than the times registered in 2012, the 2013 edition elicited great excitement and cheering from the stands due to the stiff competition that was exhibited throughout the race. There have been four Chairman’s Handicap winners who have proceeded to win the Sydney Cup in the same year between 1990 and 2013. This just underpins the competitive nature of this event in recent years.

One of the most notable performers in the Chairman’s Handicap is No Wine Song, winner of the 2007 and 2008 editions. The horse went on to take second place in the same race in 2010. Very few horses have managed to display such exemplary performances in the recent history of the Chairman’s Handicap and it can only be hoped that the future brings more champions of the same caliber. The 2011 performance posted by Ista Kareem was also worth writing home about. Having finished fourth in the Chairman’s Handicap, The mare would then go on to win the Sydney Cup later in the Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival. Some of the best mares to grace this event include the Grey Song in 2003, Divine Rebel in 2009 and Jessicabeel in 2010.

Chairman’s Handicap recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 The Offer Tremec Hippopus 2:51.6
2013 Tremec Blood Brotha Aliyana Tilde 2:44.4
2012 Permit Older Than Time Nextanix 2:41.9
2011 Once Were Wild Anudjawun C’est Le Guerre 2:43.4
2010 Jessicabeel No Wine No Song Harris Tweed 2:44.6
2009 Divine Rebel Ice Chariot Common Objective 2:45.9
2008 No Wine No Song Sky Biscuit Resolution 2:49.8
2007 No Wine No Song Prince Arthur Magic Instinct 2:48.1
2006 Fooram Three Chimneys Cross Bar 2:45.0
2005 Philosophe Padfoot Charlie County Tyrone 2:51.1
2004 Mummify County Tyrone Saturday Fever 2:47.7
2003 Grey Song Honor Babe County Tyrone 2:32.4
2002 Henderson Bay Homewrecker Asia 2:29.7
2001 Steel Phoenix Giovana Wellington 2:32.0
2000 Pravda Consolidator Regal Touch 2:31.2
1999 Steel Phoenix Lahar For The Moment 2:48.2
1998 Joss Sticks Pharagrove Court of Honour 2:47.3
1997 Linesman Nimzo Indian Aurum Heights 2:42.6
1996 Cornwall King Racing Writer Seto Bridge 2:44.8
1995 Spiritual Star Daacha Balmeressa 2:50.5
1994 Paris Fire Cross Swords Red For Go 2:49.4
1993 Te Akau Nick Chishendo Mercator 2:43.7
1992 Demerit Val D’Arno Magnolia Hall 2:44.7
1991 Prizaan String Quartet Fill The Bill 2:44.4
1990 King Aussie Chaleyer Gopak 2:47.6
1989 Just Trish Palace Revolt Tawriffic 2:46.5
1988 Round The World Banderol Our Palliser 2:49.4