Canterbury Racecourse

The Canterbury racecourse is located in Sydney in Australia. The first ever course was created by one Cornelius Prout on his own land. It is quite easy to access the racecourse as there is a Canterbury railway station that is located near the race course.

Races held in the racecourse

The Canterbury racecourse is known to hold four races throughout the year. The races include

Canterbury stakes; this is a race that was started in 1929. This race falls under the group 1 horse race. This is a closed race and it is only open to horses that are three years old and above. The races usually run over 1300 meters and it adapts to the weight for age conditions. This is an annual event and it is held during the month of August

Phar lap stakes; this is an event that is held during the month of March every year. It is a race that accepts horses that are three years old and above. The horses run over a distance of 1500 meters. The race is named after the Phar lap horse which was the only horse to win in three successive Melbourne cups.

The other races include; the Nivea Visage stakes and perfect vision

Grp Race Name Age Sex Weight Distance Date
2 Canterbury Stakes Open Open wfa 1200 August
2 Perfect Vision 2yo F sw 1200 March
2 Phar Lap Stakes 3YO Open sw 1550 March
3 Nivea Visage Stakes 3YO Open hcp 1200 March
Distance Record Time Date Horse
1100m 1:03.050 22/03/2003 Dehero
1200m 1:09.030 05/04/2008 Hoystar
1250m 1:12.360 21/08/2013 That’s a Good Idea
1550m 1:31.400 18/12/2008 Penrickson
1580m 1:34.120 11/08/2004 Lachaim
1900m 1:54.500 08/01/1983 Prince Granada
2800m 3:05.550 14/11/1992 Newsbeat