Belle of the Turf Stakes

Date: Friday 9th January 2015
Track: Gosford, New South Wales
Distance: 1600 metres
Race Type: Fillies & Mares Quality
Status: Group 3
Prizemoney: $125,000
2014 Winner: Myamira

Each January of every year, The Belle of the Turf Stakes provides some beautiful horse racing action at the Gosford Racecourse in New South Wales. The race is a 1600M quality handicap event for fillies and mares that are 3 years old. Until the 2013/2014 season, The Belle of the Turf Stakes featured in October. However, the event has brought forward to January and upgraded to a group 3 event. Organizers also increased the prize money from the $100,000 offered in 2011 to the current prize of $125,000. Due to these changes, the Belle of The Turf Stakes did not take place in 2012 but later resumed in 2013 with some breathtaking horse racing.

Myamira is the current champion of the Belle of the Turf Stakes after outclassing a field of strong contenders that included runner up Pleiades and third placed La Peita. While the race has traditionally been a popular feature, its elevation to a Group 3 event and the higher prize money will help attract city class mares and fillies. This will definitely increase the quality in the event with competitiveness expected to grow significantly.

The action at Gosford is bound to get a lot more interesting each and every year with every subsequent event delivering higher quality and thrilling racing. Even so, there have been a number of outstanding performances posted at previous editions of The Belle of the Turf Stakes. The 2010 edition which was won by Hidden Wonder is one such event that was closely contested and hard fought throughout the 1600 meters. The rich history of this event has seen outstanding horses showcase their abilities. Some of the outstanding mares to feature and take home the Belle of The Turf Stakes include Cathay Lady in 2013 and Skyerush in 2011.

Belle Of The Turf Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Myamira Pleiades La Pieta 1:35.7
2013 Cathay Lady Babel Shamardini 1:36.2
2012 Move to Jan 2013
2011 Skyerush Quidnunc Miss Keepsake 1:37.3
2010 Hidden Wonder Devils Arcade Kimillsy 1:37.5