Ajax Stakes

Date: Saturday 14th March 2015
Track: Rosehill racecourse, Sydney
Distance: 1500 metres
Race Type: Quality Handicap
Status: Group 2
Prizemoney: $175,000
2014 Winner: Messene

The Ajax Stakes is held at The Rosehill racecourse in Sydney, New South Wales every year in late March. It’s a Group 2 quality handicap race worth $175, 000 in prize money and it is run over a total distance of 1500m. The 2013 event was won by outstanding horse Havana Rey with Riva De Lago and Monton taking second and third respectively. The Ajax Stakes is hailed as one of the best handicap races that feature on the Sydney Autumn Racing carnival and it is held on the same day as the Group 2 Coolmore Classic and the Ranvet Stakes.

Mostly, handy horses are attracted to this race although a number of elite mares still feature. The Group 1 Doncaster Handicap scheduled later in the carnival at Randwick Racecourse is seen as the best progression event for horses that do well in the Ajax Stakes. The last horse to win both the Ajax Stakes and the Doncaster Handicap in the same year was the Grand in 2003. The Ajax Stakes is also a good progression race for the Gr3 Newcastle New market Handicap. Octagonal (3rd in 2012) managed a double swoop for these two events while Brilliant Light (2013) came in second in the Newcastle New market Handicap before taking a close win in the Ajax Stakes.

Centennial ran and came sixth in the Newcastle race just before running second in the Ajax Stakes. Results in the Newcastle New Market Handicap can guide bookmarkers on which horses have a better chance in taking home the Ajax Stakes. The recent horse to have successfully won The Ajax Stakes and the Newcastle Newmarket handicap was Solo Flyer (2009). Before winning the Ajax Stakes, Havana Rey (2013) had participated in the Gr1 Chipping Norton Stakes covering 1600m at Warwick farm where she ran fifth. Other previous winners of the Ajax Stakes include Niagara (2012) and Pureness (2011).

Ajax Stakes recent winners & placegetters

Year Winner 2nd 3rd Time
2014 Messene Weary Malavio 1:28.1
2013 Havana Rey Riva De Lago Monton 1:29.6
2012 Niagara Star Of Octagonal Alma’s Fury 1:28.8
2011 Pureness Mentality Lebrechaun 1:30.4
2010 Brilliant Light Centennial Park Mentality 1:28.5
2009 Soho Flyer Marching Chasm 1:28.7
2008 All Silent Friday Creek Bobadah 1:29.2
2007 High Cee Danleigh The Free Stater 1:29.7
2006 Malcolm Lantwin Utzon 1:28.7
2005 River To The Sea Daniel’s The Man This Manshood 1:27.8
2004 True Glo Gordo So Assertive 1:28.7
2003 Grand Armee Lord Essex Carael Boy 1:28.4
2002 Mowerman Make Me A Miracle Gordo 1:27.9
2001 Galiano Palladium Star Emission 1:27.7
2000 Normal Practice Beauchamp Old Man 1:28.4
1999 Confiscate Room For A Slew Morphy 1:27.7
1998 Confiscate Juggler Monet’s Cove 1:28.7
1997 Catalan Opening Holy Roller Pragmatism 1:28.6
1996 Catalan Opening Kidman’s Cove Sprint By 1:28.5
1995 Protara’s Bay Allez Glen Sovereign Kite 1:28.9
1994 Poetic King Never Undercharge Just Awesome 1:29.5
1993 Soho Square Durbridge Tarheel Boy 1:27.4
1992 Alderson Power Chief Palatin 1:29.8
1991 From The Planet Royal Creation Thrifty Reserve 1:27.7
1990 Windsor’s Pal Our Poverty Bay Livistona Lane 1:33.2
1989 Jondolar Winner’s Intent Classic Hand 1:31.5
1988 Imprimatur Swift Cheval Special Finish 1:32.4